My first week in Cape Town - Reisverslag uit South Africa, Zuid-Afrika van Melle Bax - WaarBenJij.nu My first week in Cape Town - Reisverslag uit South Africa, Zuid-Afrika van Melle Bax - WaarBenJij.nu

My first week in Cape Town

Door: Melle

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Melle

11 Februari 2014 | Zuid-Afrika, South Africa

Hi everyone,

This will be my first story about my stay in Cape Town. As I am so used to speak English all day, I decided to write my stories in English as well. For those who don't understand it, please send me a message and I will make one in Dutch. I apologize in advance for my mistakes in the language.

My first week in South Africa was A-MA-ZING. After a long trip from Holland (I departed from home last Monday at 1pm, arrived Tuesday at 7pm, about 29hours of travelling), I finally arrived in Cape Town. My first impression: WAUW, what a beautiful city. I just arrived, but I already loved the city. After I put my bags in my room, I went to explore the environment a bit. After that, I met some guys from the house I'm staying in, and we immediately went out to a bar for some beers. Crazy people. But a lot of fun.

The next day I went to the beach with Marco (from Portugal) and Alex (from Austria). The beach was nice. Very nice. But the water was so cold.
I found out that living in Cape Town is really cheap: I ate a pizza for R48 (only €3,-!), minibus is just R7 (€0,50). In the evening, we went out again, to Longstreet, the most famous place in Cape Town for going out.

Ah yeah, I almost forgot. That day I was also almost attacked by an angry homeless guy. Weird.

Thursday I went to the Table Mountain with Alex. We went hiking up to the top. It was so hard, but also so beautiful. Next weekend I'm planning on hiking the mountain again, but with sunset. "I'm so excited, that I just can't hide it!"

Friday Marco and I went on a three day tour (Garden Route). We first drove (about 5hours) to the safari. After that, we walked with lions. That was so nice! Then we went to the residence in Sedgefield and had some beers in a beach bar. The next day, we had a nice breakfast at the Farmers Market. There were these really nice stalls with delicious food. Yum. After that, we went to the Elephant Sanctuary. We walked with the elephants and drove on them. They were really cute.
The next part I am going to tell you was the most amazing experience of the week. The Bloukrans Bungee Jump. DAMN. This bungee jump is about 216m high, the highest of South Africa. But it was such an amazing experience. I can really recommend it to everyone! JUST DO IT :)

On Sunday we went to the Cango Caves. We had to crawl in small entrances and corridors. It was a nice experience. When we went back to Cape Town (another 5 hours driving) we got bad luck with the minivan: at the fuel station they put the wrong fuel in the minivan, so the car wouldn't start anymore. We were just at 'Ronnies Sex Shop' (not really a sex shop, just some kind of a restaurant in the middle of nowhere) and we waited for about 4,5 hours. Finally we came back in Cape Town at midnight. Tired.

To summarize it all: Last week(end) was really amazing. I think it was the best way to start my stay in South Africa. I had really just a little sleep, but it was all more than worth it.

Yesterday I did some preparations for my internship and went to the beach again. I finally got (really slow) internet on my laptop, so now I can post some photo's and stories. For the photo's I would like to refer to my Facebook.

Tomorrow I actually start with my internship. I am really curious for the next day’s/weeks. Thank you guys for reading, and we keep in touch!

Cheers

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Melle

Actief sinds 02 Feb. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 349
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3372

Voorgaande reizen:

03 Februari 2014 - 19 Juli 2014

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: