Hiking, biking and baboons - Reisverslag uit South Africa, Zuid-Afrika van Melle Bax - WaarBenJij.nu Hiking, biking and baboons - Reisverslag uit South Africa, Zuid-Afrika van Melle Bax - WaarBenJij.nu

Hiking, biking and baboons

Door: Melle Bax

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Melle

17 Maart 2014 | Zuid-Afrika, South Africa

Hi peepz!

It has been a while now since my first story, and I have done a lot of things!

Firstly, I started with my internship. It was pretty difficult in the beginning, because everything was new for me. But things are going well, and I like it now.

One day, I hiked the Lions Head with two friends in the morning, around 8am. In the evening, I hiked the Table Mountain with two other friends, and we passed the night on the top of this amazing mountain. We had a nice overview of the city by night, and we woke up just before sunrise to see the sun waking up the city. It was such a nice experience! I also made friends with a big centipede, in my bag.. We definitely have to do that again!

One sunny Sunday, we went to Muizenberg for surfing lessons. It was really great. In the week after, Eminem was in town! What a nice concert! Chicken skin all the way. We said goodbye to a Portuguese guy, that became one of my best friends! Marco, thank you for the great time!

One day, there was the Argus Cycle Tour. It is the biggest cycle tour in the world (35.000 people!) and it goes from Cape Town to Cape of Good Hope and back. This must be an extraordinary experience, but unfortunately I wasn’t in time to register for the tour, so I couldn’t participate anymore.
Nah, we’ll just bike this route another day. No problem.

Instead of the bike tour, we went to Kirstenbosch gardens. A very famous South African artist was playing: Hugh Masekela. Everything was perfect: the view on the mountains, the garden itself, the music, the people, the atmosphere. Everyone was dancing their assess off. An evening to never forget.

We also started to cook ourselves some times. First we always went out for dinner, because it’s very cheap (compared to the Netherlands), but cooking isn’t bad as well. I found out that here in Cape Town, Eindhoven and Delft also exist. Funny.

Time flies so fast. Like crazy. The weeks pass by with an insane speed. The weekends even faster.

The Promenade here in Sea Point is amazing! I spent a lot of time there playing soccer or running and working out in the outdoor gym. With sunset. Great 

Last Saturday, we made a very nice road trip. We first went to Simons Town, where the penguins are. After that we drove on to Cape of Good Hope. When we arrived, a baboon stole my bag (luckily I got it back) and we enjoyed the beautiful view over the Atlantic and Indian ocean embracing each other. We drove home via the other side of the peninsula and enjoyed the amazing sunset, on the foot of amazing mountains. It was amazing. Obviously.

Yesterday we had a crazy day at Mzoli’s, a braai place in Guguletgu (a township in Cape Town). The food was really good, the music was even better and the people we’re crazy (in a positive way). ‘Just eat, dance and drink’ was the motto. I liked it.

Besides that:

We had dinner near ‘Die Antwoord’, Longstreet became a regular Friday night event and the many braais were the best opportunities to meet many new people from all over the world (from Columbia to Switzerland, from Brazil to South Korea). Spending time here in Cape Town is really freakin’ amazing!

I hope you guys are doing well in the Netherlands as well, I heard some snow could be coming your way. Brace yourselves!

Hope you enjoyed the story and I’ll see you soon.

Ciao!

  • 17 Maart 2014 - 11:02

    Elle:

    Wauw Melle, sounds great, keep enjoying the good times!

    P.S: Chicken skin = Goose bumps ;)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Melle

Actief sinds 02 Feb. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 266
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3376

Voorgaande reizen:

03 Februari 2014 - 19 Juli 2014

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: